Making Connections

Having trouble connecting with people and caring about them is not a defect in character. It doesn’t mean that you’re heartless. It doesn’t mean that you don’t have a conscience.

It’s just a challenge. And sometimes it’s hard to see people around you connecting, doing what you are seemingly failing to do.

I’m not perfect. I have a hard time connecting in ways that I feel are socially appropriate. But I’m learning to trust myself and other people. I tend to judge my feelings instead of accepting them.

I won’t magically gain the ability to connect with people overnight. But in the meantime, I can be patient with myself, observant, and nonjudgmental.

Leave a Reply

